Photos

Photographer's Note

February 3, 2008
Uzès 300334 30700
Gard Languedoc-Roussillon
44.015 4.421 120 m

The Organ XVII-XIX-XVII-XIX-XXe centuries, of the Saint-Théodorit Cathedral XI-XII-XVII-XIXème centuries.
The organ is remarkable by its painted shutters of 1685, origin, and the dresser gilded, unique in France.

Large Organ, built in 1678 by Father france Casyie, Capuchin.
The dresser of P. Biscarat, cabinetmaker of Bridge-Saint-Spirit, was gilded in 1685 per J Rouveyre of Montpellier.
Restored first once in 1843 by the Daublaine factor, then restored once again in 1964: the organ includes/understands 44 plays and 2772 pipes.

1090, the first cathedral, Romance, are built in place of a Roman temple,
1177, it was damaged during the war of the Albigensians, then, in
1563, May 13, at the time of the wars of religion
1621, it is destroyed and preserves only the Tower known as Campanile or Small window cut down by two stages, bell-tower of the cathedral.
1642 to 1663, rebuilding.
Modified in parish church after the Legal settlement of 1801.

Uzès is a French commune, located in the department of Gard, the Languedoc-Roussillon area, populated of 8007 Uzétiens, distributed on 26 km², that is to say 313 hab./km².
Located at 30 km in the north of Nimes, the city dominates the valley of the Eure, where is the source of the Eure, collected by the Romans and forwarded to Nimes via an aqueduct of which the most known part is the Bridge of Gard.

Photo Information
Viewed: 5552
Points: 58
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by joel berthonneau (jlbrthnn) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 7189 W: 0 N: 22962] (76041)
  • Languedoc-Roussillon photo
    #
  • Languedoc-Roussillon photo
    #
  • Languedoc-Roussillon photo
    #
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH