Photos

Photographer's Note

At the bottom of the marble road is the library of The Library of Celsus, whose fašade has been carefully reconstructed from all original pieces. It was built in 125 B.C.E. by Gaius Julius Aquila in memory of his father, and once held nearly 12,000 scrolls.

This road used in biblical times is now well trodden by tourists.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2460
Points: 4
Discussions
Additional Photos by Stephen Harnett (SteveH) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 412 W: 101 N: 1206] (7704)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH