Photos

Photographer's Note

Church of San Francesco - Trevi (PG)
Beautiful Gothic building from the second half of the 14th century, with the adjacent former convent of the Minor Conventual friars.
Tradition traces the foundation of a Franciscan community in Trevi to the period of the presence of the Saint in the city, presumably around 1213. A church already existed in this place in 1268, as evidenced by the epigraph, today walled in the cymatium of the tympanum of the wall West; the original title was in Santa Maria. In 1285 Pope Honorius IV ordered the guardian of the Friars Minor to acquit the Trevani for having helped Perugia in the war against Foligno. In 1291, on 7 May, Nicholas IV granted indulgences to those who had visited the church on the feast of the Madonna, San Francesco, Sant'Antonio and on the anniversary of the dedication. In 1310 the Blessed Ventura who lived for a long time in a hermitage in Pissignano was buried in the church, whose veneration meant that the original title changed to that of San Ventura. In 1354 the church was almost completely rebuilt and significantly enlarged; that year the Municipality ordered all the commoners to bring a load of wood to the friars to make the lime kiln, for the work of the church “que noviter edificatur.

Fis2, pierrefonds, ikeharel, jhm, PiotrF, ChrisJ, COSTANTINO, adramad has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18988 W: 130 N: 40088] (213963)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2021-10-12
  • Exposure: f/0.1, 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2021-10-13 3:07
Viewed: 0
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18988 W: 130 N: 40088] (213963)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH