Photos

Photographer's Note

Odeon of Herodes Atticus was built in 161 AD by the Athenian magnate Herodes Atticus in memory of his wife, Aspasia Annia Regilla. It was originally a steep-sloped theater with a three-story stone front wall and a wooden roof made of expensive, cedar of Lebanon timber. It was used as a venue for music concerts with a capacity of 5,000. It lasted intact until it was destroyed and left in ruins by the Heruli in 267 AD.

jean113, Lidka, ChrisJ, ikeharel, jhm, rychem, cornejo, COSTANTINO, pierrefonds, macjake has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1748
Points: 42
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Daniel Draghici (dkmurphys) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 5671 W: 83 N: 11195] (75536)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH