Photographer's Note

PHOTO: Iglesia de Concepcion is one of the churches series of Jesuitics Missions in Bolivia.

This east zone of Bolivia, which is rich in culture and history, is comprised of seven towns; San Javier, Concepción, San Ignacio de Velasco, Santa Ana , San Miguel, San Rafael , and San José de Chiquitos, known as the Jesuit Missions.

It name comes from the indigenous region of Bolivia where the Spanish Jesuits developed a large part of Evangelism during the Colonial Period, in the 16th and 17th centuries, and in 1992, was included in the list of the Patrimonio Cultural de la Humanidad (Patrimony of Humanity) by UNESCO.

The major attractions of this region are its churches, architectural jewels guarded by different villages which still possess interesting cultural manifestations from the period of the Missions.

Today it is possible to appreciate the beauty of the religious architecture thanks to the German architect Hans Roth and his team of experts, that restored these churches of the Missions that are hundreds of years old, and with all their splendor from long ago.

The other big attraction in the region is the Baroque Music Festival and the Religious Parties (Semana Santa, or Holy Week and the Corpus Christie), that transport us to the age of the Missions with the traditional clothing and instruments made by the people of the region. Traveling the entire circuit takes about five or six days, a sufficient amount of time to appreciate the architecture, its landscape with vast, flat, tropical plains, and smooth undulations of the land known as “lomeríos.”


bibiweb, tonyking, efigesta, ajcsousa, UlfE, Emile, pitai, HNIK has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 6842
Points: 26
  • None
Additional Photos by Edgar Alejandro Guzman Jurado (alejandroguzman) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 676 W: 88 N: 501] (4684)
View More Pictures