Photographer's Note

There are fifteen Islands surrounding this area of the South Pacific known as the Cook Islands. This was taken on the largest Island – Rarotonga (only 67sq km) which belongs to the Southern Group
(the other Southern Islands include Aitu, Manuae, Aitutaki, Mauke, Takutea, Mangaia, Mitiaro and Palmerston.

The Northern Group consists of Penrhyn, Rakahanga, Manihiki, Suwwarrow, Pukapuka and lastly Nassau.

Manuae was the first Island sighted by Captain Cook and the Polynesians were the first settlers 800AD. Rarotonga and especially Aitutaki embrace coral atolls, white sandy beaches, volcanic structures and blue lagoons stretching for mile around the Islands.

x2 soft edge grads used and time is wrong on EXIF data, taken
22 hours earlier (the time difference between NZ and Cook Islands)

Kielia, Sistercosmo, bakes888, cbrman, delkoo, feather, Wandering_Dan, shawnmart has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 7848
Points: 62
  • None
Additional Photos by Jim Kil (jimkil) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 151 W: 1 N: 181] (1706)
View More Pictures