Photographer's Note

Taken as the sunset over the Murray River which forms the border between Victoria and New South Wales in Australia. This was taken from Renmark which is in Victoria.

The River Murray Basin of 1,057,000 square kilometres is about one-seventh of the total area of Australia and comprises three-quarters of New South Wales, over one-half of Victoria, a small portion of South Australia, and an area of Queensland greater than the total area of Victoria.

From its source in the Snowy Mountains in New South Wales, the Murray River flows 2,530 kilometres west then south to meet the Southern Ocean in South Australia.

The Murray is continuously navigable for 1986 kilometres from Goolwa to Yarrawonga Weir. In this length there are thirteen weirs incorporating locks.

ribeiroantonio has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 995
Points: 2
  • None
Additional Photos by John Porter (JayP) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 17 W: 0 N: 24] (381)
View More Pictures