Photos

Photographer's Note

St Peterís Church of England, Oatlands, Tasmania. The building of the church commenced in about 1838. The roof was originally a shingle roof.




Facts about Oatlands:
In 1832 the town was surveyed by Surveyor Sharland who, believing that Oatlands would eventually become one of Tasmania's major centres, marked out more than 80 km of streets. In the next decade the town grew rapidly so that it now has arguably the finest concentration of Georgian buildings of any town in Australia.
Oatlands is one of Tasmania's oldest settlements and was named by Governor Macquarie after an English town in the county of Surrey in 1821. It was developed as a military base for the control and management of convicts because of its equal distance from Hobart and Launceston. Convicts were assigned to nearby farms and properties, and also worked on public buildings, roads and bridges

edouard_lauer has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1635
Points: 2
Discussions
Additional Photos by Sue Clemens (SueC) Silver Note Writer [C: 0 W: 0 N: 28] (73)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH