Photos

Photographer's Note

John Herr built the first grist mill/saw mill at this site on the Pequea in 1738-40. The second mill was built by Johns grandson, Squire John Herr, about 1803. The flour, grist, and saw mill was also at times used to grind corn meal and as a distillery.
Benjamin B. Herr owned the 42'X 52' 3 story mill by 1864. He still ran the mill in 1875; but by 1899, the mill was owned by A.Lincoln Lefever and later by his widow. The Herr' Mill Covered Bridge along side the mill spans the Pequea Creek, the separation between East Lampeter Twp. and Paradise Twp. The c. 1885 "Kissing bridge" consists of two Burr arch spans totalling 186'. The span carrying Ronks Road over the Pequea was by-passed about 1960's-70's.
The mill's two turbines, that produced about 25 barrels of flour in its heyday, were supplied by Pequea waters via a 1500' headrace from an 8' dam. A 1200' tailrace completed the cycle. The mill was closed in 1924 by Lewis Snyder, the last operator. The mill and bridge are now part of Mill-Bridge Village & Campground.
A photo of the adjacent bridge is in WS.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1744
Points: 64
Discussions
Additional Photos by Asa Jernigan (asajernigan) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3592 W: 88 N: 5553] (21427)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH