Photos

Photographer's Note

A view of downtown Minneapolis from the Stone Arch Bridge. This bridge was built in 1883 by the railroad baron James J. Hill to allow increased rail movement across the Mississippi River. The granite and limestone bridge is 2100 feet long spans the river in 23 arches.

In 1975, the bridge became a National Historic Engineering Landmark. Two years later the last train crossed the bridge and it was abandoned. In 1994, public money was raised to restore the bridge and open it for pedestrian and bicycle traffic.

lewiz, anney has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 4339
Points: 8
Discussions
Additional Photos by Timothy Hannan (atctim) (73)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH