Photos

Photographer's Note

SUNK UNDER THE WATERS
The village of Saint-Cyriac no longer exists. There remains only a chapel built in 1902 by the lake (Kénogami). The remainder disappeared underwater after the construction of two dams and several retaining dykes to meet the hydraulic needs of the large companies located in the Chicoutimi. A dispute arose between them and the municipal council of the day, who, convinced that he would succeed, had a school built, the presbytery repaired, and a waterworks was built. The companies won the game, and the unfortunate village disappeared underwater. In 1925, the immersion was total.
Photography and text by Denis Nadeau.
Text revised and corrected by Gilles Groleau.
All rights reserved: © DENIS NADEAU, 2016

pajaran, pierrefonds has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 325
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Denis Nadeau (denisn72) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1153 W: 43 N: 1773] (8314)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH