Photos

Photographer's Note

The impressive Royal William Victualling Yard, a Scheduled Ancient Monument, was designed by Sir John Rennie (1794-1874) for use by the Admiralty as a victualling depot for the Royal Navy.

It extends to about 16 acres, of which 6 were recovered from the sea by levelling the remainder of the site.

On June 3rd 1824, in the reign of King George IV, the Royal Assent was given to an Act of Parliament authorising the purchase of land at Cremill Point for and the supply of water to the new Yard.

Work started in 1826 and in the following year the Duke of Clarence laid the coping stone of the sea wall. This was laid 11 feet under water by means of a cast-iron diving bell only 6ft x 4ft.

In the course of its construction it is estimated that 300,000 tons of rock were displaced. The works were executed by the contractor Hugh McIntosh under the superintendence of Sir John Rennie and Mr Philip Richards (who was paid 400 per year and given a house) and cost about 2 million.

The Yard was completed in 1835, by when the Duke of Clarence had succeeded to the Throne as King William IV and as a result of an Admiralty Order dated 3 December 1833 it was named the Royal William Victualling Yard after King William IV, the last Lord High Admiral.

siudzi, tyro, SnapRJW, timecapturer, patdeph, jcpix has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3053
Points: 18
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Leslie Bennett (williewhistler) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1247 W: 41 N: 2372] (16606)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH