Photos

Photographer's Note

was taken in courtyard of the Bayezid Camii (Mosque)

Bayezid Camii
The Beyazidye Camii was commissioned by Ottoman Sultan Bayezid II, and was the second large imperial mosque complex to be erected in Istanbul after the Conquest.

As the earliest complex, the Fatih Mosque was subsequently destroyed by earthquakes and completely rebuilt in a different style, the Beyazidye complex is thus of considerable historical and architectural significance.[1] Little is known about the architect other than that he also built a caravansary in Bursa; however, the polished style of the mosque itself indicates experience with earlier Ottoman and western architectural techniques.[2] The surrounding külliye complex (madrasah, primary school, imaret (public kitchen) and hammam), date from 1501 to 1506.

The dome was partially rebuilt after an earthquake in 1509, and Mimar Sinan conducted further repairs in 1573–74. The minarets burned separately in 1683 and 1764. An inscription above the courtyard entrance suggests that repairs were also conducted in 1767.

Fante has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1607
Points: 14
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Anil Tamer Yilmaz (Thrax) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 267 W: 64 N: 350] (2600)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH