Photos

Photographer's Note

Although called Old Beupre Castle the structure is seen as a fortified manor house. The original house was an L-shaped building, now located within the inner courtyard, built circa 1300 and from this period until the 18th century it was owned by the Basset family. During the 16th century intensive remodeling was undertaken, started by Sir Rice Mansel, continued by William Basset and completed by William's son, Richard. This additional work added the impressive outer gatehouse, completed in 1586 and a storyed Renaissance porch, completed 1600, along with the buildings around the middle court.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1809
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Kristina Paliokaite (Serpentina) (42)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH