Photos

Photographer's Note

This is a picture of the Parish Church in the East Lothian town of Aberlady.

The origin of the name, Aberlady, is unclear. Throughout its history there has been many different spellings used. It has been known as Aberlessic ( 12th century ), Abirleuedi, Aberlefti (13th century ) and in the 15th century Abirladye, Aberladye, Abirlathie to mention a few. "Aber" means "mouth of", and it is thought that the Peffer Burn was once known as the "Leddie", which leads some people to believe that it is from these two words that the name is derived.

The earliest place of worship in Aberlady might have been a Culdee chapel, ruins of which were discovered in the north-west corner of the old churchyard when the Luffness burial ground was established at the time of the Reformation.

Of the church built in the 15th. Century, few parts survive, mainly just the tower. The church was extended and re-furbished in 1773. This 1773 Church lasted over a hundred years and the last Communion Service in the "Square Kirk" was held on the 18th. April, 1886 before a major restoration. On the 2nd. June, 1887 it is recorded in the Kirk Session Notes, "The New Church, built by the Earl of Wemyss, this day opened for worship."

On the pavement outside the Church gates stands this old "Loupin-on-stane", a small set of steps built for the purpose of facilitating the mounting of horses, especially by ladies.

Shot in RAW and converted and edited in PSE6. The steps in the foreground were copied into a separate layer and increased a little in brightness, contrast and saturation before resizing, sharpening and framing.

All comments/critiques/advice welcome!

tsvetanar, saxo042, lrw1966, Dyerco, graffer, mmohan has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3517
Points: 10
Discussions
Additional Photos by John Cannon (tyro) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1928 W: 427 N: 7237] (29052)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH