Photos

Photographer's Note

Known as the Hammer clock, it was erected in its present form in 1909 and is a memorial to Lord Farrer of Abinger Hall, who was permanent secretary to the Board of Trade. He was created baronet in 1883 and baron in 1893.

The clock replaced an earlier one that did not feature the blacksmith figure. The original clock was removed to the old stables of Abinger Hall further along the road where it still remains in use.

ONE of Surrey’s most famous landmarks, the historic clock at Abinger Hammer has its familiar model blacksmith back in position after an absence of several weeks. Overhanging the busy A25 that runs through the village, the clock has repeatedly suffered damage over the years from high lorries passing below.

The clock is a tribute to the long iron working tradition in the village. It is fixed to the Clock House which was the site of a blacksmiths shop from the 17th century. The model blacksmith, made of teak and standing around four feet high, was originally carved by a firm that makes the traditional roundabout horses seen at fairgrounds.

Lord Farrer created the modern village of Abinger Hammer. Between 1873 and his death in 1899, he built 13 new cottages, a school and shops for wheelwrights and smiths. He also built the post office, rebuilt the Clockhouse and Tranquil Cottage and made possible the building of the Mission Room.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1859
Points: 2
Discussions
Additional Photos by Bogdan Schiteanu (bogdans) Silver Note Writer [C: 0 W: 3 N: 26] (622)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH