Photos

Photographer's Note

Blandford Forum developed as one of the major market towns in the eastern part of Dorset during the later medieval times. The main reason for its development was where the main roads from Salisbury to Dorchester and from Poole to Shaftesbury met there to cross the River Stour.

The growing significance of the town was recognised in 1605 when it was formally incorporated as a borough with its own portreeve (or mayor) and burgesses.

In 1713 and again in 1731, the town was destroyed by fire. The first blaze decimated much of the eastern part of the town. The second and more serious destroyed virtually everything that had survived the first fire so that the only buildings remaining today that predate these two catastrophes are the Old House c.1660 in The Close, and the Ryves Almshouses c.1682 in Salisbury Street.

BWJ, snunney has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 13584
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Leslie Bennett (williewhistler) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1247 W: 41 N: 2372] (16606)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH