Photos

Photographer's Note

This shot concentrates on the left shore line from yesterdays post (please see this for further details).

From Wikipedia.

'Ullswater's attractions include the Ullswater 'Steamers' which offer trips around the lake calling at Pooley Bridge, Glenridding, and Howtown. The 'Steamers' operate all year round and were originally working boats which from the 1850s moved mail, workers and goods to and from the Greenside lead mine at Glenridding which closed in 1962. Today there are four 'Steamers' plying the waters of Ullswater, "Raven", "Lady of the Lake", "Lady Dorothy" and , since April 2007, Lady Wakefield. Although known by many as the Ullswater "Steamers", all the boats are now powered by diesel, with the two older boats, Lady of the Lake and Raven having been converted in the 1930s. People often catch the 'Steamer' from Glenridding to Howtown and then return on foot back along the lakeshore to complete one of the most popular and scenic low level walks in the Lake District.

Ullswater is very popular as a sailing location with sailing marinas situated around the lake. At weekends especially the lake is dotted with many yachts but there are facilities also for diving, rowing and motorboats. Another of Ullswater's attractions is the spectacular waterfall of Aira Force midway along the lake on the western side. (Ullswater lies partly within the National Trust's Ullswater and Aira Force property.) Close to the falls is Lyulph's Tower, a pele tower or castellated building, built by a former Duke of Norfolk as a shooting box'.

snunney, macondo, Tayon, asajernigan, Buin, g1210, robiuk has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1455
Points: 24
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Wilkinson (wilkinsonsg) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 879 W: 48 N: 1446] (8662)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH