Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).
From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.


The Canton of Jura is the newest of 26 Swiss cantons (since 1976). It is located in the northwestern part of Switzerland and consists of parts of Jura mountains in the south and Jura plateau in the north. It shares borders with France, Cantons Basel-Landschaft, Solothurn and Bern. The capital city is Delemont.

This photo was taken in the meadows of Jura Mountains on the way from Moutier to Delemont.

The Jura Mountains are a sub-alpine mountain range located north of the western Alps, separating the Rhine and Rhone rivers and forming part of the watershed of each.

The range is predominantly located in France and Switzerland, extending into Germany, it offer a variety of tourist activities including hiking, cycling, skiing and cross-country skiing. Nice place to visit.

You can see more photos from Switzerland on my website

ikeharel, krzychu30, fabbs99, maria-v1981, baddori, abmdsudi, jcpix has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1447
Points: 22
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1573 W: 0 N: 3418] (16295)
View More Pictures