Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).
From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.


The canton Uri is a founding member of the Swiss Confederation. It is located in Central Switzerland and its territory covers the Valley of Reuss River between Lake Lucerne and St. Gotthard Pass. Its neighboring cantons are cantons Bern, Nidwalden and Obwalden to the west, canton Ticino to the south, cantons Graubünden and Glarus to the east and canton Schwyz to the north. The capital city is Altdorf.

This photo shows view from Seelisberg to Lake Lucerne with the funicular between Seelisberg and pier at Treib.

Seelisberg is close (30 minutes walk) to the Rütli meadow, the site of the original oath foundational to the Old Swiss Confederacy, which is situated on the shore of Lake Lucerne.

With the funicular linking Seelisberg with pier at Treib on the Lake Lucerne shore. Regular passenger boats of the serve piers on Lake Lucerne linking them with larger towns of Lucerne and also Brunnen which are connected to Swiss Railways System.

Lake Lucerne "Lake of the Four Forested Cantons") has a complicated shape, with bends and arms reaching from the city of Lucerne into the mountains. Much of the shoreline rises steeply into mountains up to 1,500 m above the lake, resulting in many picturesque views including those of Mount Rigi and Mount Pilatus.

Lake Lucerne borders on the three original Swiss cantons of Uri, Schwyz, and Unterwalden (which today is divided into the Cantons of Obwalden and Nidwalden), as well as the canton of Lucerne.

Seelisberg is located 142km east from Bern, 84km south from Zurich and 34km east from Lucerne.

You can see more photos from Switzerland on my website

Photo Information
Viewed: 65294
Points: 74
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures