Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).
From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.

Appenzell Innerrhoden

Appenzell Innerrhoden is the smallest canton of Switzerland by population and the second smallest by area. It is located in the north east of Switzerland, bordering the cantons of St. Gallen and Appenzell Ausserrhoden.

Most of the canton is pastoral, this despite being mountainous. The Säntis peak in the Appenzell Alps is one of the main attractions of the canton. There are three small mountain lakes in the canton: Seealpsee, Sämtisersee and Fälensee.

It was the last Swiss canton to grant women the vote on local issues, in 1991.

The capital city is Appenzell.

I’ve taken this photo of Hotel Säntis, located on the “Voting Square”, in the town of Appenzell.

Citizens from the canton assemble every last Sunday of April for the general assembly in this square to vote (by rising hand) on laws and elect the Governing Council.

marabu61, baddori, danos, delpeoples, ikeharel, jacquest, pierrefonds has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3302
Points: 20
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures