Photographer's Note

This photograph of the University, was taken from near the river.. When we walks down to the river, we realise how undulating the landscape actually is.

The University of Salamanca is the oldest university in Spain; founded in 1218 by King Alfonso IX, it was acknowledged in 1254 by Pope Alexander IV as being one of the four great Universities in the world, along with the universities of Oxford, Paris and Bologna. It has had many distinguished professors throughout its history, including Luis de León, Beatriz de Galindo, Melchor Cano, Francisco de Vitoria and Miguel de Unamuno and many well known citizens have walked along the University’s corridors, like Miguel de Cervantes, Hernando Cortes and Christopher Columbus.

During the medieval and modern periods, the University was financed through royal and papal concessions. With this income (and other complementary income) five official faculties could be financed; Canon Law, Law, Theology, Medicine and Arts-Philosophy as well as complementary teaching in Humanities, Languages, Mathematics and Music. After the Law of Public Instruction in 1857 (Moyano Law), the faculties of the University were reduced to Law, Philosophy and Arts, and Theology, which was finally eliminated in 1868. The local government and Town Council of Salamanca financed, as independent faculties, Medicine and Sciences in the years 1869 – 1904, the year in which state financing was obtained under the Rectorship of Miguel de Unamuno.
Today the University has Colleges of Law, Liberal Arts, Science and Medicine and of course Spanish Language Courses. It has a student population of more than 30.000 students per year who participate in the more than 250 different programme offered.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1178
Points: 6
Additional Photos by Arunava Ghose (Highmountains) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 307 W: 38 N: 676] (2674)
View More Pictures