Photos

Photographer's Note

The monastery complex on the slopes of Kosmaj dates from the first quarter of the fifteenth century, when this region was part of the Serbian state under the rule of despot Stefan Lazarević. Beside the church, dedicated to St. Nicholas, the complex also keeps the ruins of other three buildings of secular function from the same period. The founder of the monastery is not known, although it is assumed that it could have been the despot himself.
By its architectural features, the church belongs to the group of monasteries of the Moravska school, with visible intermingling of vernacular and littoral architecture. The base is a reduced three-conched floor plan with pentagonal choir and triangular altar apses and a narthex on west side. The transition from the square base of the space under the dome and the cylindrical base of the tambour with the dome is realized through pendent posts. One of the specific features of the church is the complex solution of the base for the octagonal tambour and the three different types of small columns at its corners. The church was built in broken and half-trimmed stone, without brick. Beside the window in the altar apse and tambour, designed in the usual way, a characteristic detail are round widows with rosettes on the side fašades and choir niches. In interior of the church has fresco decoration. The altar apse contains a stone sacred table that has been repaired.
The Pavlovac monastery is one of the oldest monuments of Serbian mediaeval culture in greater Belgrade. The preserved monastery quarters are a rare example of secular, residential architecture in mediaeval Serbia.

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1052
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 313 W: 128 N: 1023] (7161)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH