Photos

Photographer's Note

The Monastery was founded by Gheorghe Movila Metropolitan and his brothers Ieremia and Simion Movila, in 1584, in the same place with a wooden church since 15th century.

The Church is in a large precinct, as a fortress, with towers and it represents "the most complete church by its architecture and external and internal pictures". It is founded by Stefan cel Mare si Sfant prince.

The mural pictures, full of decorations, were realized by Ion Zugravul and his brother Sofronie, before 1596, in Ieremia Movila reign. The pictures present the Christian life, the nature, from the Holy Bible (the Old Testament) and local folkloric life. The predominant color is green.

The monastery’s museum accommodates an embroidery covering since 1491, an epitaph since 1597 enrich with 1000 semi-precious stone, icons since 16th century and cult objects. In the monastery are the Movilesti family’s shrines.

The monastery is an UNESCO monument and this information was from http://www.agrotour.ro

digi-mom, bertolucci has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3166
Points: 12
Discussions
Additional Photos by Dan Bachmann (danbachmann) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 274 W: 31 N: 400] (1746)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH