Photographer's Note

Hi TE friends

This is the statue of the writer, David Mourão-Feereira in Poets Park in Oeiras

Have a nice week

The park is crossed by the 'Alameda Poets', the main route on which the general conception of space. In turn, the Boulevard is flanked by 'islands' small thematic gardens open to the statues of poets, chosen as representative of the poetry of the Portuguese speaking at different times.

To select which poets who would be in the Park, the project officers looked for various institutions which are empowered to investigate a selection of 60 authors. The names on the final list, 50 are Portuguese and 10 authors are from countries or territories of Portuguese speaking.

Various literary periods are also represented, with 20 poets chosen are of the twentieth century and the remaining from other times. In the now opened 20 sculptures will be integrated, eleven of which are ready on the opening day of the Park.
David de Jesus Mourão-Ferreira, GCSE (Lisbon, 24 February 1927 - Lisbon, 16 June 1996) was a Portuguese writer and poet from Lisbon.
He was a son of David Ferreira (b. 1898) and wife Teresa de Jesus Ferro Mourão (b. 1907). He studied Romanic Philology in 1951 in the University of Lisbon and in 1957 became a Professor.
He married firstly Maria Eulália Barbosa Valentim de Carvalho, sister of Rui Valentim de Carvalho, of now EMI-Valentim de Carvalho label, and maternal aunt of Manuela Moura Guedes' first husband, by whom he had issue, and secondly Maria do Pilar de Jesus Barata, without issue.

• 1954 - Tempestade de Verão (awarded by Delfim Guimarães)
• 1958 - Os Quatro Cantos do Tempo
• 1962 - In Memoriam Memoriae
• 1962 - Infinito Pessoal ou A Arte de Amar
• 1966 - Do Tempo ao Coração (Of The Time to The Heart)
• 1967 - A Arte de Amar (combination of previous works)
• 1969 - Lira de Bolso
• 1971 - Cancioneiro de Natal (awarded by Nacional de Poesia)
• 1973 - Matura Idadeaa
• 1974 - Sonetos do Cativo (Captive Sonnets)
• 1976 - As Lições do Fogo
• 1980 - Obra Poética (Poetic Works) (includes a guitar and a violin)
• 1985 - Os Ramos e os Remos
• 1988 - Obra Poética, 1948-1988 (Poetic Works, 1948-1988)
• 1994 - Música de Cama (erotic anthology with an unedited book)
Narrative fictions
• 1959 - Novelas de Gaivotas em Terra (awarded by Ricardo Malheiros)
• 1968 - Os contos de Os Amantes (The Stories of the Loved Ones)
• 1980 - As Quatro Estações (awarded by the International Association of Literary Critics)
• 1986 - Um Amor Feliz (A Happy Love)
• 1987 - Duas Histórias de Lisboa (Two Histories of Lisbon)

adores, siamesa, dip, JT50, leonorkuhn, Amaz has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1673
Points: 30
  • None
Additional Photos by Aires dos Santos (AiresSantos) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 6708 W: 209 N: 14053] (56155)
View More Pictures