Photographer's Note

Lisbon (Portuguese: Lisboa) is the capital and largest city of Portugal. Considered a 'global city' ranked 2010 study on globalization and world cities such as Taipei, Miami, Warsaw and Munich Network, Lisbon is also the capital of the district of Lisbon, Greater Lisbon and Lisbon Metropolitan Area. In early February 2014, the municipality count a population of 1,003,050 inhabitants, distributed over an area of ​​83.7 km2. The Lisbon Metropolitan Area (Greater Lisbon) has a population légèrements than 2.9 million people, or about 20% of the Portuguese population, making it the 10th largest European agglomeration. It is the richest city in Portugal, with a GDP per capita higher than the average GDP of the European Union.

Located at the mouth of the Tagus, the city is divided into 53 parishes (parishes or districts). It is bordered by the municipalities of Loures and Odivelas north west Oeiras, Amadora northwest and the Tagus estuary (sea Straw) southeast, through which the city is in contact municipalities of the south shore: Almada, Seixal, Barreiro, Moita, Montijo and Alcochete.

Two European agencies have their headquarters in Lisbon: European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction and the European Maritime Safety Agency, both projects with new seats near the river. The organization of the Community of Portuguese-speaking countries also has offices in the Portuguese capital.

magui has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1336
Points: 4
  • None
Additional Photos by Jean Philippe TUR (tenretin) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 206 W: 7 N: 385] (2873)
View More Pictures