Photographer's Note

One of the many streets of the Alfama ... but not in the most famous part.

Lisbon (Portuguese: Lisboa) is the capital and largest city of Portugal. Considered a 'world city' according to the 2010 ranking of the Network for the Study of Globalization and World Cities (GaWC) 2 as Taipei, Miami, Munich and Warsaw, Lisbon is also the capital of the district of Lisbon, Greater Lisbon and the Lisbon Metropolitan Area. End of 2013, the municipality count a population of 1,000,022 inhabitants, distributed over an area of ​​83.7 km2. The Lisbon Metropolitan Area (Greater Lisbon) has a population légèrements than 2.8 million people, or about 20% of the Portuguese population, making it the 11th European agglomeration importance. It is the richest city in Portugal, with a GDP per capita higher than the average GDP of the European Union.

Located at the mouth of the Tagus, the city is divided into 53 parishes (parishes or districts). It is bordered by the municipalities of Loures and Odivelas north west Oeiras, Amadora northwest and the Tagus estuary southeast. Across the estuary, Lisbon is in contact with the municipalities on the south shore: Almada, Seixal, Barreiro, Moita, Montijo and Alcochete.

Two European agencies have their headquarters in Lisbon: European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction and the European Maritime Safety Agency, both projects with new seats near the river. The organization of the Community of Portuguese-speaking countries also has offices in the Portuguese capital.

krzychu30, ikeharel, COSTANTINO, delpeoples has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1602
Points: 16
  • None
Additional Photos by Jean Philippe TUR (tenretin) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 198 W: 7 N: 378] (2815)
  • Languedoc-Roussillon photo
  • Languedoc-Roussillon photo
  • Languedoc-Roussillon photo
View More Pictures