Photographer's Note

The Berlengas Archipelago is a Portuguese archipelago, composed of granitic islands located in the Atlantic Ocean, 5.7 miles west of Cabo Carvoeiro. It was the first protected area in the country when, in 1465, King Afonso V of Portugal forbade the practice of hunting on the main island Berlengas (Great Berlenga). The Berlengas Natural Reserve is a World Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO since June 30, 2011.
Part three small islands of this archipelago:
Great Berlenga
Farilhões (-Forcados).
The Berlenga Island or Berlenga Grande is divided into two parts, separated by almost a seismic fault that gave rise to the north called Carreiro of Dogfish and south to Carreiro's Monastery. Most of the island is called Berlenga and represents more than 2/3 of the total surface of the island; the lower part is called the Old Island. Here is the Duke of Bragança Lighthouse, the Fort of São João Baptista Berlengas, Praia do Carreiro do Mosteiro, restaurants and camping

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Joao Abreu (Joao_Abreu) Silver Note Writer [C: 5 W: 0 N: 55] (234)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2009-07-30
  • Categories: Daily Life
  • Exposure: f/8, 1/1600 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2014-10-26 8:02
Viewed: 885
Points: 0
  • None
Additional Photos by Joao Abreu (Joao_Abreu) Silver Note Writer [C: 5 W: 0 N: 55] (234)
View More Pictures