Photos

Photographer's Note

The Calvary shown on this picture is above the Chapel of St. Stephen of Hungary and it is at the end of the trail of the Stations of the Cross. The Stations of the Cross and the Chapel were conceived in 1953 by Hungarian Ft. Elias Kardos (1919-1961) and after his death another Hungarian priest Lajos Kondor (1928-2009) guided it to successful completion. The sculpture of the Calvary was made by Portuguese artist Domingo Soares Branco, and the Chapel was designed by Hungarian architect Ladislaw Marec. The whole project was financed by Hungarian Catholics exiled in the West and completed in 1964. The picture in the Workshop shows both the Chapel and the Calvary. There is a nice panoramic view of the area from the top of the Chapel. Another Workshop picture shows the Our Lady of Hungary (Magyarok Nagyasszonya) statue inside the Chapel.

pajaran has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 709
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Barnabas Bozoki (bbarna) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 44 W: 5 N: 444] (1295)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH