Photos

Photographer's Note

One of the most beautiful Orthodox churches made of wood is situated in the very hart of the village. Built for Greek Catholics in the years 1863-1864, it demonstrate a three-segment structure – the vestry, nave and chancel – topped with three domes in a manner similar to the architecture of the Beskid Region. Original interior decor and polychrome paintings are splendidly preserved.
The church was taken over by Roman Catholics after the Second World War and Operation Vistula (displacement of native inhabitants to the territories regained after the war). Today the Descent of the Holy Spirit Church belongs to the parish in Żniatyń.

pelin, powoj has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2145
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Antoni Dziuban (antek) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 56 W: 0 N: 60] (1288)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH