Photos

Photographer's Note

A very traditional photo of the Court of “Slot Zeist”. Count Willem Adriaan of Nassau-Odijk had this manor built between 1677 and 1686 to exhibit his wealth, power and fortune. It was designed by the Leiden architect Jacob Roman, originally built in Dutch Classicism style, with its layout loosly based on Italian villas and with an interior by Frenchmen Daniël Marot. From 1745 it served as a convent and after being sold a number of times, it was updated to the Napoleonic Empire Style in 1830 still visible today. After its last owner deceased around 1910, the building was abandoned and in 1924 faced demolition. To prevent this, the city of Zeist bought the manor and used it for municipal offices and even as storage room, until a full renovation was started in 1957 that restored it to its current state. By that time, most of the gardens were already reclaimed as farmland or building site, but part of gardens and lanes still can be recognized in Zeist. The former Garden Lane (still called Slot Lane or “Slotlaan” in Dutch) stretches across the city centre some 3.2 kilometres in a perfectly straight line from the point where the photo was taken.

Jeppo has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2758
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by MC MC (mpcevat) (40)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH