Photos

Photographer's Note

De Waag Nieuwmarkt 4 - Amsterdam

The Nieuwmarkt was formed in 1614 by damping and partial overkluizing Geldersekade and gorges of the Irish Burgwal. St. Anthony Gate, originally a medieval gate of Amsterdam, came as a square to lie in 1617 and was converted into a venture. Under the gate is still a diver that connects the waters of the two canals. The story of the Weigh settled the guilds of masons, surgeons, blacksmiths, bakers cakes and cobblers. Sculptured entrance gates gave access to the guild rooms in the towers. From 1690, an octagonal domed hall anatomy lessons. The dome was decorated in 1732 with the arms of the healers. Type: Defense Working Subtype:? Port Dated:? 1488 Original Function: Gate Current position: Restaurant and office.

Translate with Google Translate

Nobody has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1583
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Csaba Witz (csabagaba) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 617 W: 172 N: 1499] (7018)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH