Photographer's Note

vianden view
This extremely picturesque location is set on both banks of the Our, amid magnificent natural scenery. The fine feudal manor dates back to the 9th century. Seat of the Counts of Vianden and handed down to the dynasty of Orange-Nassau, the Vianden Castle belongs now to the State. The remarkable medieval building is mostly restored and is a real architectural jewel, unrivalled in the Ardennes and the Eifel. The remains of a former outer wall with guard towers encircles the town.

The parish church with its two naves (former Trinitarian church), built in 1248 in Gothic style (recently renovated), is one of the most significant religious buildings in the country. The former Trinitarian cloister, dating from around 1250, houses a lapidary museum. The Museum of popular Art, in a former mansion, captures the exact image of 18th and 19th century interiors. There is also the Doll and Toys Museum with over 500 dolls in an adjoining building. The house where Victor Hugo lived during his exile in 1871 now houses a collection of documents, writings and drawings of his various visits to Vianden and the country.

A large network of hiking paths, perfectly maintained and signposted, offers access to the unspoilt nature of the Our valley. A chairlift climbs to a height of 450 metres and gives a good opportunity for an excursion with splendid panoramic views. Close to Vianden, the Our dam and the hydro-electric power station are worth a visit.

Photo Information
Viewed: 616
Points: 36
  • None
Additional Photos by Costantino Topas (COSTANTINO) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10699 W: 23 N: 18065] (112452)
View More Pictures