Photos

Photographer's Note

One of the picturesque parts of the Vilnius University building is the Church of Sts. Johns and its bell tower. The full name of the church is the Church of St. John the Baptist and St. John the Evangelist.

The construction of this church lasted for almost 40 years and was completed in 1426. At that time it was a Gothic building. In 1571 the church was transferred to the Order of Jesuits and became a part of the university complexes.
Besides masses, the Church of Sts. Johns has also witnessed student protests, teatre performances, and welcoming ceremonies for kings. In Soviet times, it was turned into a warehouse. Later, the University Museum was established here.
Today, the Church of Sts. Johns performs its main functions once again. It was visited by Pope John Paul II in 1993.
The bell tower of the church, wich is 68 meters high, is among the highest buildings in the Old Town.
The present facade was designed in the 18th century by the most prominent Vilnius Baroque architect, Jonas Kristupas Glaubicas (Johan Christoph Glaubitz).

greek, amfdj has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Jonas Jonika (jonius) (70)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2008-05-13
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposure: f/11, 1/350 seconds
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2008-05-15 11:04
Viewed: 2296
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jonas Jonika (jonius) (70)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH