Photos

Photographer's Note

Vytautas' the Great Church of the Accession of The Holy Virgin Mary on foreground was built in the right bank of the Neman River around 1400 for Franciscan monks and foreign merchants. It was ordered and funded by Vytautas the Great as a commendation to the Blessed Virgin Mary for saving his life after a major defeat in the Battle of the Vorskla River. Being quite close to the river the church has many times suffered from spring floods. In 1812 it was burned by French troops. The Franciscan monastery was closed by Russian administration after the November Uprising. In 1845 the Catholic church was closed and later it was rebuilt and reopened as an and Orthodox church. Since 1903 it served as military barracks. In 1915 Germans organised a warehouse here. The building, returned to the Catholic Church in 1919 underwent major renovation works in 1931-1938 and again in 1978-1982. There is the architecture complex on Town Hall square on background. Hope you enjoy the old town panorama.

pat0500, linask, asajernigan, npecanhuk has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3692
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Denis Kabanov (Tracker) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 132 W: 0 N: 399] (1942)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH