Photographer's Note

Vaduz - the capital and second largest city of Liechtenstein. Located in central-western part of the country in the region of Oberland, right on the border with Switzerland, on the right bank of the Rhine, in the foothills of Drei Schwestern (Three Sisters) in the Raetia Alps.

Is an important cultural, tourism and finance, as well as the nominal headquarters of many foreign enterprises and companies. Vaduz is the seat of the duchy of all central government offices, including the state parliament and the government, the castle is the residence of the princes of Liechtenstein. It is the capital of the Roman Catholic archdiocese. It is also a nationally important road junction.

The first mention of the village comes from the 1150th. In 1342 years it became the capital of the county of Vaduz, which is from 1712 years in the hands of the family of Liechtenstein. In 1719 the county of Vaduz and Schellenberg were merged in the sovereign (in the German Reich), the Principality of Liechtenstein, which in 1866, after resigning from the German Union, gained full independence. The city Vaduz was the capital of the country.

The municipality comprises the city of Vaduz in addition to five small enclaves in northern and eastern Liechtenstein. Commune is inhabited by 5,109 residents (second place in the country, after Schaan). Its surface is 17.3 km ².

Here on the picture City Hall.

Photo taken during a bicycle race in 1996.
This is a scan from negative.

bukitgolfb301, ikeharel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 4414
Points: 16
  • None
Additional Photos by Jozef Zbigniew Napora (raszid62) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1803 W: 41 N: 3313] (18515)
  • Primorsko-Goranska photo
  • Primorsko-Goranska photo
  • Primorsko-Goranska photo
View More Pictures