Photos

Photographer's Note

On reflection is seen the House of Blackheads located in Old Riga on the Town Hall's square near St.Peter Cathedralalso seen on reflection (on the right).

House of Blackheads was important centre for public life, which was first mentioned by sources in 1334 as the New House of the Large Guild. The building was erected by the city itself, and originally it was rented to the merchants of the Large Guild and the unmarried merchants, the Brotherhood of Blackheads, who later, in 1713, purchased the building and became its proprietors.
The Blackheads was characteristically a common union of young, unmarried merchants and ship captains in the Hansa cities, which chose St. Maurice to be their patron. St. Mauritius was an imaginary African black moor (from this the name of the brotherhood “the Blackheads” comes). Due to their exceptional status the Blackheads played an important role in the society life and traditions; many VIPs of that time (including Russian tsars) took part in events organized by the Blackheads. As a German merchant club the Brotherhood of Blackheads existed in Riga until 1939.
This cultural monument was destroyed during World War II in 1941 and have been restored in 2000. Now it is cenrte of public life of the city: state receptions, concertes and exibitions are conducted there.

Source of informarion: Riga city municipality portal www.riga.lv

dospordostres, axiotea, OT12 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1917
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jurijs Svecovs (JVS) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 15 W: 36 N: 89] (556)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH