Photographer's Note

Manarola, in the Cinque Terre National Park (Five miles of rocky coast in eastern Liguria).
Here, five villages Monterosso, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore make up the Cinque Terre; this zone is characterized by the presence of precipitous slopes which have been cultivated into vineyards by means of fatiguing system of terracing.
From a research carried out by naturalists it seems that, over thousands of years, the inhabitants of the Cinque Terre have carried out an enormous task in constructing and repairing these famous short dry walls "muretti". So much so that the two-metre-high, eleven thousand kilometre long network of dry walls is comparable to the Great Wall of China.

joergen115 has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 9047
Points: 0
  • None
Additional Photos by Pepito Grillo (kanzoo) Silver Note Writer [C: 6 W: 2 N: 83] (546)
View More Pictures