Photos

Photographer's Note

The earliest information regarding the church is to be found in an 8th century document, in which it is attributed, with all its properties, to the Benedictine monastic family. Over the centuries a profoundly felt Marian cult has been practised here. On the right hand wall of the San Tommaso chapel a graffiti inscription declares “a li dì de iunio 1533 fece li miracoli Sancta Maria et gettò lacrime co sangue a l’occhi et a dì 17 alluminò uno ceco” (“on a day in June 1533 Holy Mary performed miracles and wept from Her eyes tears mixed with blood, and on the 17th day She restored the sight of a blind man”).
The prodigy is attributed to a polychromatic Pietà, a naively crafted piece set in the central niche of the high altar. The current architectural layout dates back to 1280 when the church was rebuilt in Burgundian style. More changes were made in 1559 with the addition of the portico, the main entrance, the polygonal apse, inclusion of large windows and a side entrance to the internal hall. The lower part of the bell tower is medieval, the upper part is Renaissance, where the presence of glazed Foto archivio D'Abruzzo polychromatic basins link it with Atri. The portal (1559), decorated with an inscription in praise of the Madonna, leads into the Gothic hall, characterised by a beautiful suite of ogee arches. The ceiling is in exposed trusses, with ceramic tiling.

With grateful acknowledgement to :http://www.regione.abruzzo.it/giubileo/en/itinerari/loreto_aprutino/index.html

deblink, sabyasachi1212, Pitoncle, mrcrow, giorgimer has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3691
Points: 16
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10627 W: 63 N: 29874] (130967)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH