Photos

Photographer's Note

Castello di Monterivoso – Ferentillo (TR)

Monterivoso or Casal Rivoso or Castel Rivoso is located along the road leading to the Salto del Cieco, passing through Precetto.
The oldest nucleus dates back to the thirteenth century. It clings to the mountainous slope of the southern slope of Mount Sant'Angelo. The most recent part, from the 1950s, developed along the banks of the natural ditch of Castellone. The Rocca dominates the town with its tower and the underlying parish church of Sant'Antonio Abate dating back to the 14th century but remodeled towards the end of the 16th century.
Monterivoso from the thirteenth to the eighteenth century was a very rich community with its own prior and a council of elders. The Confraternities and Religious Companies are very active. In the Pastoral Visit of Bishop De Lunel (1571-1572) the Confraternity of the Rosary of Casal Rivoso is appointed and subsequently, visit of the Bishop Giacinto Lascaris (1711-1712 and 1713-1715).

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17383 W: 130 N: 36256] (198878)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2019-10-04
  • Exposure: 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2020-05-27 0:25
Viewed: 0
Points: 38
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17383 W: 130 N: 36256] (198878)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH