Photos

Photographer's Note

Sanctuary of Our Lady of Tears - Trevi (Perugia)
On 5 August 1485, tears of blood were seen falling from the eyes of a Madonna painted on the wall of a rural house. Numerous miracles followed.
Everything was meticulously recorded by a contemporary local notary. A temple was immediately built. Construction began on May 26, 1487 based on a project by the architect Antonio Marchisi da Settignano: in 1511 the roof vaults were completed, but the plasters and floors were completed in 1522.

holmertz, pierrefonds, ikeharel, Fis2, jhm, clic, ChrisJ, COSTANTINO, mcmtanyel has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18497 W: 130 N: 39208] (210436)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2015-01-25
  • Exposure: f/0.1, 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2021-05-14 3:02
Viewed: 0
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18497 W: 130 N: 39208] (210436)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH