Photos

Photographer's Note

The Mulino di Pissignano is located just below the Tempietto del Clitunno, it was driven by the driving force of the water coming from Clitunno, it worked for wheat and oil.
It was built by the Municipality of Spoleto in 1441, as an inscription on the architrave of the access door recalls, in which the name of the governor of Spoleto Amorotto Condulmer is carved, while the coats of arms of the Municipality and of the governor himself remain intact. Another Spoleto coat of arms is affixed along a wall. In 1520 the Municipality of Spoleto comes into conflict with the Brancaleoni family who had begun to build another mill on the Clitunno river, under Pissignano, despite the prohibition of Spoleto which had prevented it from the same community of Campello shortly before, evidently to profit on the exclusive of the grinding. The mill in the nineteenth century passed to the Della Genga; then it was transformed and used as an accommodation facility, currently (2020) it is abandoned, but retains many elements that recall its ancient function.

holmertz, Fis2, ChrisJ, jhm, ikeharel, pierrefonds, jean113, ricardomattos has marked this note useful

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18147 W: 130 N: 38315] (207145)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2020-02-20
  • Exposure: f/0.1, 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2021-02-18 0:55
Viewed: 0
Points: 36
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18147 W: 130 N: 38315] (207145)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH