Photos

Photographer's Note

Church of Santa Croce - Montefalco (PG)
Detail of Crucifixion
In 1333, twenty-five years after the death of Santa Chiara da Montefalco, the presbytery of the Church of Santa Croce, where it was extinguished, was magnificently decorated with frescoes from the Spoleto school, the work of two anonymous artists, already conventionally named first and second Master of Santa Chiara. In the center an imposing Crucifixion, crowded with over forty figures, with a host of knights to crown the cross. On the left the Pious Women support the unconscious Madonna, the Magdalene at the foot of Christ and St. John on the right. Jean d'Amiel, the client, is depicted in small dimensions at the foot of the cross. The centurion, who converted after seeing blood and water gushing from the wound in Jesus' side is represented on the left on horseback, on the right St. Joseph of Arimatea showing Jesus to Caiaphas.
The Crucifixion, for years attributed to the so-called first Master of Santa Chiara da Montefalco, has recently been correctly assigned to the repertoire of the Master of Cesi, an artist with great talent and passion, one of the founders of the Umbrian school of painting. Here he especially he demonstrates how the solid Romanesque traditions are combined and elaborated with the Giottesque novelties, which came to him from Assisi.
SEE WS

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18147 W: 130 N: 38315] (207145)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2016-06-24
  • Exposure: 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version, Workshop
  • Date Submitted: 2021-02-22 0:34
Viewed: 0
Points: 36
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 18147 W: 130 N: 38315] (207145)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH