Photos

Photographer's Note

Happy Easter

The magnificent Crucifixion is located in the Chapel of Santa Chiara in Montefalco, which was originally the presbytery of the small Church of Santa Croce, built by the Saint at the end of the thirteenth century and the place chosen by her to die on August 17, 1308. In 1333, twenty-five years after the death of the Saint the presbytery of the church where she died, by the rector of the Duchy of Spoleto, Jean d'Amiel, was beautifully decorated with frescoes of the Spoleto school, the left wall is the work of the so-called second Master of Santa Chiara, the back wall and the one on the right are frescoed by the Maestro di Cesi. In the cross vault, the symbols of the Evangelists are framed by rich decorative friezes. In the center, an imposing Crucifixion, crowded with over forty figures, with a host of knights crowning the cross. On the left the Pious Women support the passed out Madonna, the Magdalene at the feet of Christ and Saint John on the right. Jean d’Amiel, the client, is depicted, in small dimensions, at the foot of the cross. The centurion, who converted after seeing blood and water flow from the wound of Jesus' side, is represented on the left on horseback, on the right Saint Joseph of Arimathea showing Jesus to Caiaphas.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17309 W: 130 N: 36021] (198012)
  • Genre: Places
  • Medium: Color
  • Date Taken: 2016-10-29
  • Exposure: 30 seconds
  • Photo Version: Original Version
  • Date Submitted: 2020-04-10 0:33
Viewed: 0
Points: 46
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17309 W: 130 N: 36021] (198012)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH