Photos

Photographer's Note

Taken fromm the ferry boat coming back to Bellagio.

''Appointed as a fishing village in 769 was an ally in the era of Commons in Milan, was destroyed by Como in 1126. Welcomed the exiles from the island Comacina, which suffered similar fate in 1169: it was devastated, its castle and churches destroyed.

The neighborhood where they took refuge was called Insula nova, a name that was later extended to the whole village, which soon became one of the richest of the lake.

Still today, every year its celebrated the exodus of comacini and the reception of varennaschi. Saturday and Sunday of the week it falls on June 24, the feast of St. John. The lake is brightly lit with thousands of abandoned candles floating on water, how to remember the derelict souls who sailed from one bank to another, fleeing from their homes in flames.''

JCG, bukitgolfb301, Charo, raszid62, macjake, paninho has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 3268
Points: 58
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by ALESSANDRO MACCHI (SWEETFREEDOM) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1587 W: 0 N: 3172] (24623)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH