Photos

Photographer's Note

Since Colle San Vigilio, you can enjoy one of the best views of Città alta.
From left to right: Tower Gombito, the Campanone, the dome of the cathedral, hidden by the dome of the seminar, the dome and campanile of the Basilica Santa Maria Maggiore.

The picture is taken from the terrace of the upper station of the funicular of San Vigilio.

The funicular of San Vigilio has been open on August 27, 1912. The mechanism was built by the Mills Corporation Roll of Berne, while the two cars, with a capacity of 32 persons each, were the company Fervet of Bergamo.

After operating for more than half a century, Miss service was suspended in 1976 because the government's concession expired, and security problems. In 1984, it was decided to draft a radical transformation. The renovation of the line began in 1987 and the company Ceretti Tanfani Milan was selected to build the plant. The service resumed in 1991.

Characteristics of the line:
length 630m
90m height difference (from m. 369 to m. 459)
10% minimum slope
maximal slope 22%
capacity 55 people.

Source: website of the ATB, which manages public transport in Bergamo

In the workshop, a broader view

bema, delpeoples has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 2121
Points: 20
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Delphine Digeon (tatadalou) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 754 W: 113 N: 1142] (7459)
  • Provence-Alpes-Cote-dAzur photo
    #
  • Provence-Alpes-Cote-dAzur photo
    #
  • Provence-Alpes-Cote-dAzur photo
    #
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH