Photos

Photographer's Note

The great semi-fortified house at Portumna was built before 1618 by Richard Burke or de Burgo, 4th Earl of Clanricarde. It was the main seat of the de Burgo family for over 200 years, until it was gutted by fire in 1826. The ground floor of the house is now open to the public. To the north of the house are formal, geometrically laid out gardens. Portumna Castle now includes the recently restored 17th century walled kitchen garden. Following its original plan the garden has been organically planted with fruit trees, flowers, herbs and vegetables, all combining to make it a treat to the senses. Portumna Castle is surrounded by the towns local attractions - Lough Derg, the River Shannon and Portumna Forest Park.

jhm has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1998
Points: 14
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Pawel Stryjek (Pablo25) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 298 W: 6 N: 247] (3186)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH