Photos

Photographer's Note

This restored ancient iron foundry is part of an industrial museum in the Ómassa community of Miskolc. The museum building is not visible on the picture, the two pieces of rock in the foreground is locally mined iron ore. The foundry was built by Frigyes Fazola in 1813 and operated it until 1866. It was closed when the iron production moved to Diosgyor. Frigyes was the son Henrik Fazola, a German blacksmith, who become the father of Hungarian iron industry. He built the first iron foundry at Omassa in 1776, this one does not exist anymore. The Ujmassa foundry was restored to operating conditions in 1951-54 as an industrial historic monument by the Diógyör Iron Works.. During this time the heavy industry and its workers enjoyed star status in communist led Hungary. But even know, when there is no iron and steel manufacturing in Diósgyör, this museum proudly show the past successes of this industry. They even fire up the old foundry once a year on Fazola days.

No_One has marked this note useful

Photo Information
Viewed: 1375
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Barnabas Bozoki (bbarna) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 49 W: 5 N: 575] (1529)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH