Photographer's Note

pythagorion Samos view II

Built on the ruins of the ancient city of Samos during the time of Polycrates, it condenses more than twenty - six centuries of Greek history. It is the main tourist resort on the island. Many yachts and sailing boats moor here in the large, picturesque harbour. From here it is also possible to travel by boat to several Aegean islands. The town used to be known as Tigani, because of its shape, but later was named after the mathematician Pythagoras. The harbour, with its tavernas, coffee-shops, tourist shops and tables set out under the trees on one side, and its fishermen, caiques and yachts of all sizes on the other, could be described as the quintessential scene of a Greek island. Licourgo Castle is in the village and slightly further out, is the airport.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1799
Points: 56
  • None
Additional Photos by Costantino Topas (COSTANTINO) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 6379 W: 22 N: 10935] (75178)
View More Pictures