Photographer's Note

the flying of the seagull
Piraeus is situated in the southwest part of the central plain of Attica, which encompasses the Athens agglomeration and is widely known as the Attica Basin. Piraeus is bounded by Mount Egaleo to the northwest, the Saronic Gulf to the south and west, and is connected with the rest of the Athens urban area to the east and northeast. The city proper consists of a rocky peninsula, originally an island, featuring three natural harbours. In addition to the central one, called Kantharos in ancient times, the smaller harbours to the east are still in use, Zea also known as Pasalimani, and Munichia, the smallest of the three and widely known as Mikrolimano. Nowadays, Piraeus larger urban area includes the suburban harbours of Drapetsona, Keratsini and Perama. The central harbor is a hub of commercial and passenger shipping, whereas the two smaller ones cater to recreational and fishing craft as well as passenger hydrofoils.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2165
Points: 102
  • None
Additional Photos by Costantino Topas (COSTANTINO) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 8333 W: 23 N: 15049] (94529)
View More Pictures